How To: Unsharing A Folder In Dropbox

If you’re using only one account in Dropbox, you’re actually enjoying the privilege of having all your files synced across all your registered devices without the hassle.

However, there may be times when you need to share a folder to a different Dropbox user, and Dropbox provided easy ways to share one or two folders easily.

Now you wanted to unshared that folder.

It's of necessity to understand, however, that in Dropbox, leaving a folder is actually different from sharing a folder. The two functions actually refer to two different privileges in relation to the creation of the folder itself.

The easiest way to put it though is that, leaving a folder is actually more effective to those who do not own the folder—those who have been invited by the owner or author. If you happen to be the owner of the folder, you have three options: either you unshare the folder totally, transfer the ownership of the folder and leave, or you can just remove some users off the list.

With you being the owner, you as well get the chance to decide whether you want the files to remain locally to the collaborator’s PC or not, and this may entail security and integrity of your original files in the future.

So, how do you unshare a dropbox folder?

Unsharing a folder is relatively easy enough as you’d do in sharing a folder. To do so:

  1. Right click on the row of the folder that which you wanted to unshared. On the appearing options, select Shared Folder Options. Unsharing Dropbox Folder
  2. You will be given a small new window wherein you can see all the people sharing that same folder. To unshare, click the Unshare Folder button found on the lower left of the window. Or, if you only need to unshare your folder to a specific person, right click on the person's account and select "Kick Out". Kicking Out People From A Shared Dropbox Folder
  3. Put a check mark on the space provided if you want your collaborators to keep a copy of these files on their devices.
  4. You're done!

However, if you being the owner would only want to abandon the folder without affecting the other users’ access to it, you may want to transfer ownership and leave the folder. To do so:

  1. Right on the row of the shared folder that you want to leave from. Alternatively, you can go to the Sharing tab at the left of the Dropbox page, and this will give you a list of all the folders that you are recently sharing.

  2. Click Shared Folder Options.
  3. Click on the gear icon found on the extreme right of the row where the selected owner candidate is in.
  4. Select Make owner.
  5. Leave the folder and confirm if you want a copy of the folder on your account.

If you want to leave a shared folder while not being the owner, you can simply follow the steps 1-3.

PS: Want to start Your Own blog?

Serious about blogging? If you want to learn how to create a blog in less than 15 minutes, click here. I'll teach you how to easily set up and launch a blog with Wordpress and with our affiliate partner, BlueHost. You will also get a free domain name and a 50% discount off the monthly price for web hosting, visit this page to start one today.



pauline c
By Pauline Cabrera

A twenty-something internet savvy + night owl based in Ontario. Passionate about web design, HTML/CSS, beautifying things and internet marketing. Stay updated, follow me: Google+ / Facebook / Instagram

Enjoyed What You've Read?
Sponsor: Premium Stock Images
Powered by Shutterstock
Join The Conversation
comments powered by Disqus