Learn How I Made $21,000+ From One Epic Blog Post
36,696 Views // Dropbox

Enabling And Disabling Camera Upload Feature In Dropbox

The camera upload feature in Dropbox has not yet been that long in the platform, but I’d say such a feature is terrific. It is terrific in a way because you do not have to worry anymore whether your pictures are kept safe or not, and letting the feature work will also save you time in backing those files up to Dropbox yourself. However, like many other users, you may want to just have the feature off especially because of storage consumption issues, if not issues on how to organize the files being synced.

You can choose your settings for the Camera Upload feature in two ways depending on your device:

Desktop

  1. Get the latest version of the Dropbox app from https://www.dropbox.com/install if you do not have one yet.
  2. After installation, click on its icon which is found on the notification area. This should show you a small pop-up window.
  3. Click on the gear icon found on the top right of the window, then select Preferences…. A new window will appear.
  4. Under General tab, and under Camera Upload section, click on the link Change AutoPlay settings. This will open the AutoPlay settings for Windows.

    Alternatively, you can simply go to Control Panel, and select AutoPlay.

  5. Look for Pictures and Video files from the list, and in their respective drop-down menus, select your option:
    1. If you want to enable the auto-upload feature, select Import pictures and videos using Dropbox
    2. To disable, simply select other options from the list according to your preference. I would suggest you select Ask me every time for Windows to let you choose whether to upload to Dropbox or not.

Smart device

  1. Download the latest Dropbox app according to your platform. For the Android Dropbox app, go to http://goo.gl/4Z4Ox; http://goo.gl/r51db for iOS devices; http://goo.gl/Rh5VR for Windows smart devices.
  2. After installation, locate the Preferences/Settings button (usually appearing on the top of the page).
  3. Look for the Turn (on/off) Camera Upload and toggle it to enable or disable it.
    1. When you choose to enable the feature, you will also be asked if you want to upload existing photos.
    2. When disabled, all your pending uploads will not take place or will not be put on queue the next time you connect data with.
Get on Our VIP list!
Click To Download Your Free EBook
Join The Conversation
comments powered by Disqus